• Українська
  • Русский
  • English
Where there is no law, but every man does what is right in his own eyes, there is the least of real liberty
Henry M. Robert

Ukrainian researchers’ appeal to the global research community

The National Philharmonic Society held a concert in memory of the fallen Euromaidan heroes
4 March, 2014 - 12:08

Ukraine’s democratic people’s revolution has won. The criminal regime of president Viktor Yanukovych, who built a total system of violence and corruption to enrich himself, has been overthrown. Unfortunately, over hundred Ukrainian activists paid for this victory with their lives, and thousands were wounded and injured.

Today, Ukraine has a coalition government formed by its parliament in a legitimate way and tasked with returning the country to normalcy after it had been looted by the previous government. Ukraine is seeing a national consensus beginning to appear on ways of further democratic development.

Unfortunately, under these conditions, leadership of the Russian Federation has decided to destabilize the situation in Ukraine and engage in direct occupation of some of its regions. Crimea has become the first victim of these actions, where Russian forces, contrary to international law, are already blocking the strategically important objects, and Russian intelligence agencies instigate local separatists to take decisive actions.

The parliament of Ukraine adopted a statement on February 28, 2014 calling on the international community to ensure the territorial integrity of Ukraine by all means.

We therefore call upon our colleagues in all countries to join the broad international campaign to pressure the Russian government into adherence to generally accepted rules of international law. Remember that World War II broke out in Europe, besides other reasons, because Western democracies tried far too long to contain aggressive intentions of German leadership with concessions. The democratic world has no right to repeat the same mistake today with aggressive leaders of Russia!

♦ Academician Serhii Komisarenko (biochemistry)

♦ Academician Viktor Hrinchenko (hydromechanics)

♦ Academician Yaroslav Yatskiv (astronomy) on behalf of the Ukrainian Astronomical Association including 10 astronomical research institutions

♦ Professor Oleksandr Nakonechny (computer science) on behalf of the Academy of Sciences of Higher School of Ukraine having 315 full members

♦ Professor Maksym Strikha (physics) on behalf of the Ukrainian Physical Society having 600 members

♦ Dr. Natalia Shulha on behalf of the Ukrainian Scientific Club having 55 members

♦ Corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences Nadia Hula (biochemistry)

♦ Corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences Volodymyr Lytovchenko (physics)

♦ Corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences Serhii Riabchenko (physics)

♦ Professor Oleksii Haran (political science)

♦ Professor Volodymyr Kulyk (political science)

♦ Professor Oleksandr Cherednychenko (linguistics)

♦ Professor Anton Filipenko (economics)

♦ Professor Yurii Shapoval (history)

Over 1,000 researchers in total.